# West Virginia First Foundation Board of Directors Minutes of December 12, 2024 Meeting

Member Attendees:	Other Attendees:
1. Steven Corder (Region 1) 2. Tim Czaja (Region 2) 3. Mayor Tom Joyce (Region 3) (via online) 4. Jon Dower (Region 4) 5. Dr. Tony Kelly (Region 6) 6. Matt Harvey (Appointee) 7. Jeff Sandy (Appointee) 8. Dora Stutler (Appointee) 9. Alys Smith (Appointee) 10. Greg Duckworth (Appointee) 11. Dr. Matthew Christiansen (Region 5)	1.Lewis Gianola PLLC, John Bsharah 2. Members of the Press/Guests 3. Jonathan Board-WVFF Executive Director 4. Rachel Thaxton, Director of Operations 5. Romeo Tan, Chief Operating Officer 6. Danin Cather, Chief Marketing Officer 7. Anthony Woods, Chief Financial Officer

## I. CALL TO ORDER / OPENING REMARKS

Meeting called to order by Chairperson Matt Harvey.

## II. ESTABLISH A QUORUM

Quorum was established and recognized by Chair Harvey with 10 board members present in-person and 1 member attending online. All 11 members were accounted for by Secretary Dora Stutler.

## III. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Alys Smith made a motion to approve the minutes from the October 10, 2024, meeting and a second was made by Greg Duckworth. The minutes were approved by unanimous consent.

#### IV. FINANCIAL REPORT

Treasurer, Jeff Sandy provided a financial update. As of November 30, 2024 income to date was \$10,163,387.37, expenses to date were \$1,250,139.30, current funds available were \$226,413,248.07 and total balance was \$233,450,202.06. The motion was made by Tom Joyce to accept the financial report and to publish it on the WVFF website and a second was followed by Steve Corder. Motion carried.

#### V. OFFICER ELECTIONS

Executive Director Jonathan Board opened the nominations for officer elections.

Greg Duckworth nominated Matthew Harvey to remain as Chair and made a motion to elect with a second by Matt Christiansen. Motion carried.

Alys Smith nominated Matt Christiansen to remain as Vice Chair and made a motion to elect with a second by Matt Harvey. Motion carried.

Greg Duckworth nominated Jeff Sandy to remain as Treasurer and made a motion to elect with a second by Alys Smith. Motion carried.

Matt Harvey nominated Dora Stutler to remain as Secretary and made a motion to elect with a second by Alys Smith. Motion carried.

Jeff Sandy nominated Alys Smith to remain as Executive Committee Member and made a motion to elect with a second by Greg Duckworth. Motion carried.

# VI. INITIAL OPPORTUNITY GRANT (IOG) VOTES

Executive Director Board explained the process for voting on the Initial Opportunity Grants. The Board was provided with a comprehensive awards summary packet including the grants recommended by review committee by regions and the four target areas of Youth Prevention and Workforce Development, Child Advocacy, Diversion and Interdiction, and Transitional/Recovery Housing Expansion. Executive Director Board described the target areas before each vote was taken.

Diversion and Interdiction grant awards as recommended were presented. Jon Dower and Tim Czaja recused themselves for potential regional conflicts of interests with grant applicants. Tony Kelly made the motion to approve the grant awards as presented with Alys Smith making the second. The motion unanimously passed.

Youth Prevention and Workforce Development grant awards as recommended were presented. Greg Duckworth recused himself for potential regional conflicts of interests with grant applicants. Steve Corder made the motion to approve the grant awards as presented with Alys Smith making the second. The motion unanimously passed.

Child Advocacy grant awards as recommended were presented. Greg Duckworth and Steve Corder recused themselves for potential regional conflicts of interests with grant applicants.

Tony Kelly made the motion to approve the grant awards as presented with Jon Dower making the second. The motion unanimously passed.

Transitional/Recovery Housing Expansion grant awards as recommended were presented. Jon Dower recused himself for potential regional conflicts of interests with grant applicants. Tim Czaja made the motion to approve the grant awards as presented with Tony Kelly making the second. The motion unanimously passed. A motion was made by Steve Corder to rescind the vote to move into Executive Session at the request of Tom Joyce. Mr. Joyce was online, and the vote occurred before the chair recognized his request. A second to rescind the vote was made by Alys Smith. Motion carried.

Tim Czaja motioned to go into Executive Session to discuss the grant awards in the Transitional/Recovery Housing area and the second was made by Steve Corder. The motion carried.

Discussion was held in Executive Session. Tony Kelly motioned the board out of Executive Session with a second by Jeff Sandy. Motion unanimously approved.

Tony Kelly made the new motion to approve the grant awards as presented for Transitional/Recovery Housing with Alys Smith making the second. The motion unanimously passed.

Chair Harvey and Executive Director Board took a moment to recognize and thank everyone involved in this process of these first grant awards. Each applicant/awardee will be notified individually to complete contracts and paperwork.

Chair Harvey recommended at this time to do a supplemental round of funding for those applicants that applied in round one. The initial round provided critical insights into the application process. Many applicants successfully completed the process but may have had a deficiency in the application, so this proposal is to provide an opportunity to make corrections. It was proposed to open resubmissions from January 1-31, scoring period will be February 1-March 15, and March 15-31 for processing and notification. Executive Director Board noted that this is not new funding, but funding that was not distributed with the first round of grant awards.

Jon Dower made a motion to proceed with the supplemental round of funding and seconded by Tim Czaja. Motion unanimously passed by the full board.

## VII. SELECTION OF 2025 MEETING DATES

Chair Harvey recommended four regionally located quarterly meetings of the board for 2025-2026 year. The dates will be March 21, June 30, September 29, and December 12, 2025. Tom Joyce made a motion to approve the dates recommended and a second was made by Matt Christiansen. Motion carried with full support from the board.

# VIII. OLD BUSINESS

No old business

# IX. NEW BUSINESS

No new business

# X. ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn was made by Jon Dower seconded by Matt Christiansen. The motion passed with unanimous consent.

Next quarterly meeting of the Board of Directors is scheduled for March 21, 2025.